Kerwin Young, born in New York City, is a prolific American composer and recording producer. 

He has composed over 500 works, including concerti, ballets, opera, pop music, chamber music and symphonic works. In 2017 Kerwin composed his orchestral fantasy 'Season of Autocracy', performed by the University City Symphony Orchestra. He has also composed extensively for cinema, television and stage. Motion Picture credits include Sister Act 2, Green Card, Dirty Grandpa, and He Got Game. Television credits include New York Undercover, American Crime Story: The People VS O.J. Simpson, and Ruckus. Video game credits include Destiny 2. 

A member of Public Enemy's infamous production team, the Bomb Squad (1987-2018), Young and the group were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013. Young is an iconic recording producer (Public Enemy, Jimi Hendrix, Bob Marley, Mobb Deep, Eric B & Rakim). 

 Kerwin Young studied music composition at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music and Dance with Chen Yi, Zhou Long, and Jazz Messenger legend, Bobby Watson. He holds both a BM (2012) and an MM (2015) from UMKC.  

Awards and Accolades: 2019 recipient of the ACO-Earshot Emerging Composers residency with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. 2017 U.S. Hip-Hop Cultural Ambassador with the U.S. State Department-Next Level (Egypt). 2016 Sphinx Organization Mpower Artist Grant with violinist Tami-Lee Hughes. 2014-15 composer residency with the Chicago Modern Orchestra Project (Renee Baker). 2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction (Public Enemy). Numerous Grammy nomination (1989-present).

Websites and Mobile Apps Powered by InstantEncore